Brisbane Council

Locksmiths around Brisbane Council’s Inner Suburbs

Hotline: (07) 3085 9211

The list below shows the inner suburbs in the local council area of Brisbane. If you’re looking for a professional locksmith and you’re located in any of these suburbs, please click on the suburb name. Remember help is just a call away.

BardonKangaroo PointSouth Brisbane
Bowen HillsKelvin GroveSpring Hill
BrisbaneNew FarmTeneriffe
East BrisbaneNewsteadWest End
Fortitude ValleyPaddingtonWoolloongabba
HerstonPetrie Terrace
Highgate HillRed Hill

Locksmith services Brisbane - lock pickinglocksmith residential brisbaneresidential locksmith Brisbane




History of Brisbane

The Government of Queensland created the City of Brisbane with a view to uniting the then Brisbane metropolitan area under a single planning and governance structure. The City of Brisbane Act 1924 received assent from the Governor on 30 October 1924. On 1 October 1925, 20 local government areas of various sizes were abolished and merged into the new city.

The City of Brisbane is governed by the Brisbane City Council, the largest local council in Australia. The Brisbane City Council has its power divided between a Lord Mayor, a parliamentary-style council of twenty-six councillors representing single-member wards of approximately 23,000 voters (roughly equivalent in size to state electorates), and a Civic Cabinet comprising the Lord Mayor, the Deputy Mayor (drawn from the majority on Council) and the chairpersons of the seven standing committees drawn from the membership of Council. Due to the City of Brisbane’s status as the country’s largest LGA, the Lord Mayor is elected by the largest single-member electorate in Australia. Like all mayors in Queensland, he has very broad executive power.